Wire Size

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-07-05, 06:59 PM
MC-130P FE
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Wire Size

I plan to run a 240v 40 amp service to my workshop. The distance from my house to the shop is 220 feet. Is # 6 wire big enough for this?
Thanks for your help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-07-05, 08:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would say no, you need to go down to #4 wire. # 6 will work, but if you really approach 40 amps, or if your two 120 volt legs are not closely matched then your voltage drop will get too large.
 
  #3  
Old 08-08-05, 10:03 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by MC-130P FE
I plan to run a 240v 40 amp service to my workshop. The distance from my house to the shop is 220 feet. Is # 6 wire big enough for this?
Thanks for your help.
#6 copper wire or #4 aluminum wire will work.
 
  #4  
Old 08-08-05, 04:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On runs like that I use number 2 alumimum and put it on a 50 or 60A breaker. It keeps V drop to a minimum and is enough that a guy could run a welding machine if he had to or a air comp and some lights. 6 wire and 40 A is too marginal for my tastes, and aluminum wire is cheap. This kind of setup makes for decent motor starting also.
 
  #5  
Old 08-09-05, 07:20 PM
MC-130P FE
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the response, looks like I will go with either #4 copper or #2 Alum. What size ground wire and conduit should I use for these?
 
  #6  
Old 08-10-05, 08:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can buy a 4 conductor alum (quad) feeder from the box stores just for this, has all the wires twisted together and sized for it. I think its a 2-2-2-6 or 2-2-4-6 ??? Anyway, its designed jut for this. You could go to the supply house and buy 1000 ft roll of number 2 also,, ha but the ready made has stripes, wires are marked.
 
  #7  
Old 08-10-05, 11:07 AM
solipsist9
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
do yourself a favor. stick with copper.
john
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: