Wire Size


  #1  
Old 08-07-05, 06:59 PM
MC-130P FE
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Wire Size

I plan to run a 240v 40 amp service to my workshop. The distance from my house to the shop is 220 feet. Is # 6 wire big enough for this?
Thanks for your help.
 
  #2  
Old 08-07-05, 08:24 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I would say no, you need to go down to #4 wire. # 6 will work, but if you really approach 40 amps, or if your two 120 volt legs are not closely matched then your voltage drop will get too large.
 
  #3  
Old 08-08-05, 10:03 AM
T
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by MC-130P FE
I plan to run a 240v 40 amp service to my workshop. The distance from my house to the shop is 220 feet. Is # 6 wire big enough for this?
Thanks for your help.
#6 copper wire or #4 aluminum wire will work.
 
  #4  
Old 08-08-05, 04:32 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
On runs like that I use number 2 alumimum and put it on a 50 or 60A breaker. It keeps V drop to a minimum and is enough that a guy could run a welding machine if he had to or a air comp and some lights. 6 wire and 40 A is too marginal for my tastes, and aluminum wire is cheap. This kind of setup makes for decent motor starting also.
 
  #5  
Old 08-09-05, 07:20 PM
MC-130P FE
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the response, looks like I will go with either #4 copper or #2 Alum. What size ground wire and conduit should I use for these?
 
  #6  
Old 08-10-05, 08:15 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You can buy a 4 conductor alum (quad) feeder from the box stores just for this, has all the wires twisted together and sized for it. I think its a 2-2-2-6 or 2-2-4-6 ??? Anyway, its designed jut for this. You could go to the supply house and buy 1000 ft roll of number 2 also,, ha but the ready made has stripes, wires are marked.
 
  #7  
Old 08-10-05, 11:07 AM
solipsist9
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
do yourself a favor. stick with copper.
john
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: