Electric range wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-08-05, 06:10 AM
Jim99
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Electric range wiring

I'm a bit confused by the instructions for a range/stove that I'll be installing. It is dual fuel but the gas side is not the issue.

For the electrical hook up, it calls for a 40 amp 220 circuit. However, the instructions clearly state to use 12 ga wire.

I was under the impression that 40 amps required at least 10 ga (if using THHN). Since I'll be running this circuit directly from the main panel for a total of about 40 feet it's somewhat of an issue as to wether to use 10 or 12 ga.

Can anyone shed some light on this?

Thanks,
Jim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-08-05, 07:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Can you provide make and model number please?
 
  #3  
Old 08-08-05, 07:38 AM
Jim99
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
It's a 36" wide Viking.
Model: VDSC367-6B

Thanks,
Jim
 
  #4  
Old 08-08-05, 08:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
The essential question is the power rating of this appliance ,which is measured in watts. Consequently, you must determine this rating before proceeding to "design" the Branch-Circuit required.

30 amps X 220 volts = 6600 watts = 6.6 KW

40 amps X 220 volts = 8800 watts = 8.8 KW

Good Luck & Enjoy the Experience!!!!!!!!!!!
 
  #5  
Old 08-08-05, 08:45 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
Gas/Electric Range

DO NOT connect #12 or #10 AWG wire to the 40 amp circuit breaker!

You have to run 3 conductor w/ground if this is a new installation. The pigtail cord to the range will have to be 3 wire w/ground also. Ensure that the bonding strap connecting the frame of the range to the neutral is removed. The ground wire connects to the range's frame.

Follow the manufacturer's instructions.

http://www.vikingrange.com/specs/specs_main.html

http://www.vikingrange.com/specs/pdf...vdsc_specs.pdf
 
  #6  
Old 08-08-05, 09:04 AM
Jim99
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by thinman
DO NOT connect #12 or #10 AWG wire to the 40 amp circuit breaker!

....edited....

Follow the manufacturer's instructions.

http://www.vikingrange.com/specs/specs_main.html

http://www.vikingrange.com/specs/pdf...vdsc_specs.pdf

I wish I had the instructions with me. I just do not understand why they would have stated to use 12 ga wire.

So, can I assume that 8 ga is required for a 40 amp 240 circuit (max 6634 watts)?

Thanks,
Jim
 
  #7  
Old 08-08-05, 09:16 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
Originally Posted by Jim99
I wish I had the instructions with me. I just do not understand why they would have stated to use 12 ga wire.

So, can I assume that 8 ga is required for a 40 amp 240 circuit (max 6634 watts)?

Thanks,
Jim
#8 AWG copper or #6 AWG aluminum.
 
  #8  
Old 08-08-05, 09:23 AM
Jim99
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks.
I really appreciate the help.

Jim
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'