Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

wiring 20amp twist outlet & on/off switch for a pool, help.....

wiring 20amp twist outlet & on/off switch for a pool, help.....

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-12-05, 05:27 PM
joostin420
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
wiring 20amp twist outlet & on/off switch for a pool, help.....

i am trying wire a 20 amp NEMA L14-20-R twist-lok outlet outside on a post for an above ground swimming pool for my pump motor.

i have run Romex 12AWG 2wire+ground from my panel location to a junction box i mounted on my foundation.

i have run 12AWG THHN wire (green, white, black) in PVC conduit running from the junction box going outside down to 18" below ground level out to a 4x6" post 10' away from the house and 6' away from pool.

mounted the outside box to the 4x6" post.

i need some help wiring the 20 amp NEMA L14-20-R twist-lok outlet and a 20 amp single pole on/off switch in the same box. can someone draw me up a diagram of how to wire this please?

thank you,

justin
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-12-05, 05:45 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Is the motor 120v or 220v?
I would assume 220v.

Why in the world are you using an L14-20 receptacle???

For 220v you need an L6-20R
For 120v you need an L5-20R


If it is 220v then simply send both hot legs directly to a two-pole switch. Then out from the switch to the receptacle.
Then just make tails on the ground wire to both devices.
 
  #3  
Old 08-12-05, 06:01 PM
joostin420
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
the motor is 120v. the plug coming from the motor is the male counterpart of the L14-20-R twist-lok style receptacle.

i have temporarily converted a 12AWG extension cord with a female L14-20-R twist-lok style connector.

please let me know about wiring the permanent solution.

thank you,

justin
 
  #4  
Old 08-12-05, 06:30 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
First, replace the 14-20 with the correct L5-20P plug.

Get the correct L5-20R receptacle.
Run the neutral wire right to the receptacle silver screw.
Run the hot wire to the top screw on the switch.
From the bottom screw on the switch to the hot (gold) of the receptalce.

Splice two tails to the ground and hit both devices. If the box is metal or has a ground lug it needs a tail as well.
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-05, 07:06 PM
joostin420
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
i dont really want to change the plug due to warranty reasons. what color wire would be the neutral wire?

also, the L14-20-R twist-lok receptacle has 4 screws (2 screws on each side of the receptacle), labeled below:


Gold (Y) |---------| Green (G)


Silver (W) |---------| Gold (X)

thank you,

justin
 
  #6  
Old 08-12-05, 07:26 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
The neutral is white.

Warrantee? They blatantly put the wrong plug on the cord, I doubt there would be a warantee issue.
Actually I would contact the company and ask them why they put a 120/240, 4-wire plug on a 120v motor. I bet it's all they had lying around.


You could keep it, but if you install an L14-20 receptacle you must feed it with the correct wires. This IS two hots a neutral and ground. You cannot simply install a 4-wire receptacle and leave off which ever wires are not needed.

Sorry, I am a "right tool for the job" kind of guy, as well as the right part for the job, or no job.
 
  #7  
Old 08-12-05, 07:54 PM
joostin420
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
you are correct; i just went out and looked at the connector i bought for the temporary cord i made, and it is an L5-20R type plug/receptacle.

Home Depot sold me the wrong receptacle. i have to go and get the right plug in the morning.

thank you for your help

justin
 
  #8  
Old 08-12-05, 08:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Your conduit must be 24 inches deep for a pool installation.

I alos hope that the wire you bought is THWN or dual rated THHN/THWN. Outdoor conduit is wet, and you need waterproof wire.
 
  #9  
Old 08-12-05, 09:32 PM
joostin420
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
yes, the wire is 12awg THHN/THWN.

okay, i will make it 24" deep.

thank you,

justin
 
  #10  
Old 08-13-05, 04:20 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Bob, where do you get the 24" number ?
I thought I missed a hidden requirement part but can't find it anywhere.
 
  #11  
Old 08-13-05, 08:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Speedey, I just checked and can't find the 24 inches either. However, that was a requirement for my brother when he had his pool installed. Perhaps it was a local ammendment.
 
  #12  
Old 08-13-05, 10:02 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
I would believe it could be a local thing. I have heard 24" mentioned a few other times.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'