Wiring Basement Question

Old 08-14-05, 03:42 PM
fbell3
Visiting Guest
Wiring Basement Question

I am wiring a room in my basement and have a few questions...following is what I have completed.

1. have the main wire (14/2) coming from the the main panel to a GFCI outlet.
(note) local code dictates that the first thing on the circuit is the GFCI outlet when other outlets are underground.

2. 14/2 wire coming from GFCI outlet to outlet(2)...14/2 wire coming from outlet(2) to outlet(3)...14/2 wire coming from outlet(3) to outlet(4).

3. I need to wire a ceiling fan/light combination.

[Question] - Can I run another wire from the GFCI to a switch and then a 14/3 from the switch to the fan/light? If this is possible, how would I wire it?

Thanks

PS - I am a novice homeowner...but I can read.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-14-05, 06:34 PM
chrisallen
Visiting Guest
Originally Posted by fbell3
I am wiring a room in my basement and have a few questions...following is what I have completed.

1. have the main wire (14/2) coming from the the main panel to a GFCI outlet.
(note) local code dictates that the first thing on the circuit is the GFCI outlet when other outlets are underground.

2. 14/2 wire coming from GFCI outlet to outlet(2)...14/2 wire coming from outlet(2) to outlet(3)...14/2 wire coming from outlet(3) to outlet(4).

3. I need to wire a ceiling fan/light combination.

[Question] - Can I run another wire from the GFCI to a switch and then a 14/3 from the switch to the fan/light? If this is possible, how would I wire it?

Thanks

PS - I am a novice homeowner...but I can read.
You can do it the way you are saying......basically you would have your hot wire from the 14/2 powering both switches, then out of the switches whichever wire you you choose to use for the fan/light going to that corresponding switch/appliance.