simple question - replacing switches/receptacles

Old 08-15-05, 10:46 AM
simple question - replacing switches/receptacles

I'm remodeling my house and want to replace all of the old switches and receptacles, and switch plates, with new white ones.

I have NO experience with electricity. After I turn off the breaker box, is it as easy as unscrewing the wires from the old and screwing them onto the new? I would be careful to not cross any of the wires. I would just screw them exactly where they were on the old. Is it safe for me to do this? Anything else I should know? I know it's not rocket science, but since I've never done it before, I thought I better get advice on it. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 08-15-05, 11:05 AM
While what you are proposing is a fairly straight forward project, there are several gotchas that you need to watch out for. I recommend that you purchase the book Wiring Simplified and read it (or at least the relevant chapters) before you start this process.

Remember to turn the power off, and double check that it is off by using a radio or lamp in the receptacle before and after turning the breaker off. If you haven't already done so, now would be a good time to map out your electrical system. You should identify which breaker controls each and every switch, receptacle, light and appliance in your house. This information may save our life some day.

Replace device for device. Do not try to put a combination switch and receptacle in place of a switch, for example. Make sure that you install 2 way switches where 2 way switches were before, and three way switches where three way switches were before. If the existing receptacles are two prong, then make the new ones two prong as well, unless you can verify the circuits are properly grounded.