Dimming Electric

Old 08-23-05, 08:26 AM
Dimming Electric

Hello everyone, I tried a search on my problem but my skills are minimal and I came up with nothing. Just this summer {I have been in the house 6 years know} when a large appliance; ex dishwasher, A/C, electric oven, or microwave; come on all the electric in the house dims. The lights dim and you can hear reduced power in other electric appliances. What would be causing this? Nothing else in the house has changed. I do know when the house was inspected before I bought it the inspector told me I had aluminum leads to the main panel. If that is the cause, how can I repair it or is that something that my electric supply company should deal with? At a prior house I added breakers in the box and ran new lines throughout the house so I have basic knowledge and understand the urgent need for safety when in the box.

Thank you All,

Sponsored Links
Old 08-23-05, 08:55 AM
You will need the services of an experienced electrician.

A corroded AU connection could be located on the "Line" and "Load" terminals of the meter-socket, and on the "Line" terminals of the "Main" circuit-breaker.

It's important that you understand that all these connection-points are directly connected to a utility power-source and should be percieved as being without "Fault-protection". If an un-experienced person caused a "Fault", such as a "Ground-fault", there would be "fireworks" because the large fault-current which can be destructive.

Also, there is no simple means to dis-connect, or isolate these points from the utility power when working on the connections.

Good Luck & Enjoy the Experience!!!!!!!!!!

Old 08-23-05, 08:57 AM
Forum Topic Moderator