12 guage or 14??

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-23-05, 05:04 PM
GirlDIYer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
12 guage or 14??

I want to convert a 110v outlet to a 220v outlet, How do I know if the wire is 12 or 14 guage?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-23-05, 05:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
Look on the jacket.
Compare it to another piece of wire of known size.
Just use the same amp breaker that was there and you should be OK.
15 amp = #14
20 amp = #12
 
  #3  
Old 08-23-05, 05:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 132
Comparing the wire in question to a piece of known wire or using a wire gauge would be your best bet. If you can only see the wiring from the receptacle box or the panel box you may not be able to read the gauge off of the jacket.

I would be wary of using the breaker size to determine wire size, especially in an older house.
 
  #4  
Old 08-23-05, 05:58 PM
GirlDIYer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I may consider leaving this one to a pro. lol I think I will do the majority of the project and call in an electrician for this part. Thanks for your help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'