Kitchen Cabinet Undermount Lighting

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-01-05, 02:17 PM
LinT
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Kitchen Cabinet Undermount Lighting

I am going to be running the electrical for my new kitchen cabinets. There will be undermount lighting...I havent checked yet but i think they go through a transformer and then plug into an outlet (correct me if i am wrong) I want to put a dimmer onto the lights...can I just put the whole outlet onto a dimmer? thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-01-05, 02:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Probably not. Before planning the electrical, you need to fully understand the lights first.

If the lights are hard wired they need to be on a different circuit than the counter receptacles. Whether they can be dimmed or not depends on the lights themselves.

If they plug in then you need to understand the type of lights and electrical requirements.
 
  #3  
Old 09-01-05, 02:54 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,337
The whole system must also be permantenly accessible. It is common practice to install the receptacle and the transformer on top of the wall cabinets. If you have a soffitt, then that it not an option. You will have to find another location for the receptacle and transformer.

Some types and brands of transformers can operate on a standard dimmer, some can operate only with a special dimmer, and some cannot be dimmed at all. You will have to check the specifications of the lights you have bought/will buy. That will determine the design of the electrical system.
 
  #4  
Old 09-02-05, 06:39 PM
LinT
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
plug in

I checked and they are "dimable" and they plug into an outlet. So can I make the whole outlet on a dimmer??
 
  #5  
Old 09-03-05, 06:05 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,430
Dimmers CANNOT control receptacle loads according to the National Electrical Code.
 
  #6  
Old 09-03-05, 06:18 AM
LinT
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
so should I cut the plug off and hard wire it?
 
  #7  
Old 09-03-05, 02:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
No, sorry, you cannot do that. Although it is true that the NEC says you cannot make a receptacle controlled by a dimmer, I would probably violate that code. This is perhaps the only code in the NEC I would ever suggest this for. To minimize problems, buy a simplex receptacle (space to plug in one thing) rather than a duplex receptacle (space to plug in two things). Then mount the receptacle somewhere that is out of the way, where nobody will be tempted to use it for anything else.

If somebody sees a good solution that doesn't violate the NEC, please tell me.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'