Pulling heavy wire through conduit

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-08-05, 08:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Pulling heavy wire through conduit

I am going to be pulling three 4 AWG and one 8 AWG through 115 ft of 1 inch PVC conduit with two 90's. Does this sound like a hard job? Any tips to make it go smoother? How much lube, when, where? Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-08-05, 09:25 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,335
Originally Posted by Tomcat22
I am going to be pulling three 4 AWG and one 8 AWG through 115 ft of 1 inch PVC conduit with two 90's. Does this sound like a hard job? Any tips to make it go smoother? How much lube, when, where? Thanks.
It's a two man job; one to smoothly feed and push, the other to pull. Lots of wire lube applied directly to the wires by the pusher as they go into the conduit. I'm sure your #4 is stranded wire, but get stranded for the #8 also. Taper the head of the pull by staggering the start of each wire and wrap it with electrical tape. Roll out the wires ahead of time to get the twists and kinks out.

Finally, make sure the PVC cement has had a couple hours to set before pulling the wires in. Wet PVC solvents eat wire insulation. Good luck!
 
  #3  
Old 09-08-05, 10:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Thanks, one more thing

Thanks for the advice. The 8 AWG is stranded as well. The electric supply guys said to apply a bunch of lube before the wires to act as a leading "slug", so to speak. They also said that friction in the conduit heats up the THHN coating and it could get sticky, so don't stop. Do you think I should have more than 1 bottle of lube for this?
 
  #4  
Old 09-08-05, 12:00 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,668
Tomcat,

I will add that what is important is that when you pull the wires make sure you organize the wires so that they do not cross over each other.

The extra thickness could cause problems and if you think you need two bottles of lubricant, get three.
You can't afford to run out.
 
  #5  
Old 09-08-05, 02:28 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
Sounds like you installed undersized conduit. What schedule is the pvc? 40? 80?
 
  #6  
Old 09-08-05, 06:56 PM
ampz's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 536
Make it a little easier by going into atleast 1 1/4" .Although the NEC allows for four #4 THHNs in SCH 40.I recommend atleast 1 pullbox or "C" condulet somewhere in the middle of the run.Good luck
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'