change supply from 220V to 110V?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-08-05, 12:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 749
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
change supply from 220V to 110V?

I've got a situation where my existing electric rangetop is 220V supplied. My new gas stove requires 110V. Is there a way to chang or convert the existing supply from 220 to 110, or would it be easier to just pull another 110V line? I believe this has to be a dedicated circuit, and I don't have any more room on my panel for an additional circuit. The wiring is knob and tube, by the way.

Thanks !!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-08-05, 12:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pull a new wire.
 
  #3  
Old 09-08-05, 02:32 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree. It is simply easier to run a new receptacle for this than to convert the range receptacle.

Also, does it specifically say it needs a dedicated circuit? If so then 110 tells us nothing. What is the amperage or wattage draw?

I assume since it is just a 120v requirement then all it requires is simply a regular 15 receptacle.

Does this range have an electric element? Or is it all gas?
 
  #4  
Old 09-08-05, 03:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 749
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It doesn't say anything about a dedicated circuit. I'm not sure where I pulled that out of...

The range is all gas. no electric element. Looks like a new line would be better
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: