Awg Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-20-05, 09:05 AM
Bob53's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Derry, New Hampshire
Posts: 291
Awg Question

greetings, not sure if this belongs here but I will ask away. While bench testing a 12V blower/heater motor for my volvo, I noticed the ground wire get quite warm. The hot wire did not because I used the same gauge and it was stranded. However, on the ground side I used a piece of #12 solid wire from a pice of romex and spliced it with stranded wire that is part of the motor (not sure of the stranded gauge). Could this be the reason it got warm and maybe even very hot if I left it there for more than a few minutes?
THANKS!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-20-05, 09:40 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,541
Certainly could be the reason. You should match the gauge of the ground wire with the gauge of the hot wire. Check the amperage of the blower fuse and size the wire accordingly.
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-05, 09:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,219
You never specify the gauge of the stranded wire. All wires in a closed circuit _must_ carry the same current. In a given circuit, points of resistance generate heat. Thinner wire has higher resistance and will get hotter (this of course presumes that both wires are made out of the same materials.)

-Jon
 
  #4  
Old 09-20-05, 10:15 AM
scott e.'s Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Anderson, IN
Posts: 412
It might be that the motor is intended to have its return path provided by the frame of the motor and car itself. The ground wire you talk about may be for a different purpose than to provide the actual return path for all of the blower amps.
 
  #5  
Old 09-20-05, 10:43 AM
Bob53's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Derry, New Hampshire
Posts: 291
Many thanks so far....So, if I continue to "rig" this motor via a toggle switch and making sure that all my wires are the same gauge correctness; I then want to install an inline fuse to protect the blower motor. So, does it make a difference if the inline fuse is on the hot side wire or the ground side wire? Probably belongs on the hot side wire huh?
Many thanks again!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes