Room A/C receptacle

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-21-05, 08:56 AM
doug-o
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Room A/C receptacle additional

I own an older house and I replaced a window a/c. The old one had a type B receptacle and plug. The new one has a type C plug. Can I simply change out the type B receptacle for the type C without any other changes to the circuitry or breaker?

thanks...
 

Last edited by doug-o; 09-21-05 at 09:24 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-21-05, 09:07 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
A type B flat-blade plug is a common 120-volt North American grounded plug. A type C plug is a 240-volt ungrounded round-pin plug used in Germany and other countries.

Do you have a 120-volt or a 240-volt air conditioner? Is this an air conditioner designed for North America, and are you installing it within North America?

The answer to your question is probably no, but I'd like to understand the larger picture here.
 
  #3  
Old 09-21-05, 09:07 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I assume you are referring to a two prong ungrounded plug and receptacle, wanting to change to a three prong grounded receptacle.

You probably cannot simply change the receptacle. An older house generally has ungrounded wiring. Your new A/C wants and needs a grounded receptacle.

You can install a GFCI receptacle which will at least provide protection. However, you may have other issues as well. Unless this is a dedicated circuit and if this A/C is more power hungry than the old one you may not have enough power available due to other loads on the circuit.

What else is on this same circuit? What are the power requirements of the A/C?
 
  #4  
Old 09-21-05, 09:17 AM
doug-o
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Room A/C receptacle

The wall receptacle has a ground and two horizontal openings. The new a/c plug has a ground, one verticle blade, and one horizontal blade. The voltage on both the old and new motors is 230/208. I don't know either motor's amp rating, or the breaker size - guess i should find out before you can answer properly.
 
  #5  
Old 09-21-05, 09:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Sorry, somehow I read A and B not B and C.
 
  #6  
Old 09-21-05, 09:24 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,332
Okay, what you have is a 30A 250V receptacle (NEMA 6-30) and what you need is a 20A 250V receptacle (NEMA 6-20). This implies that the wiring installed should be at minimum #10. If this is the case, then it is safe to replace your existing 30A double-pole breaker with a 20A double-pole breaker and replace the existing receptacle with the new matching one.

You can look at this chart to identify the type of receptacle you have:

http://www.stayonline.com/reference_...ght_blade.aspx
 
  #7  
Old 09-21-05, 09:32 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,332
Reflecting on my post, I realized that a 15A 250V receptacle also has two horizontal blades. If you have a 15A receptacle instead of a 30A, then there is little chance you will be able to replace the breaker and receptacle because you will have #14 wire.

Please look closely at what you have in place.
 
  #8  
Old 09-21-05, 09:34 AM
doug-o
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I was scratching my head about that one. How 'bout I check the motor amps, the wiring size, and the breaker panel and get back to you?
 
  #9  
Old 09-21-05, 09:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
I think your reference to a type C plug was a red herring. It appears that there is no type C plug in this problem.
 
  #10  
Old 09-21-05, 10:57 AM
doug-o
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Actually, some a/c manufacturers and distributors refer to plug types for their units as A, B, C, or D on their websites.

http://www.feddersoutlet.com/sizingguide2.html
 
  #11  
Old 09-21-05, 12:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Well, ain't that a kick in the head. They took terminology that already had internationally standard meanings and changed it to suit their own private purposes.
 
  #12  
Old 09-21-05, 07:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2,041
Bottom line is this: you have a 240 volt receptacle on a 15 amp breaker. Your air conditioner requires a 240 volt circuit with a 20 amp breaker. You CANNOT use this air conditioner on this circuit. You would have to run new, larger wire from the breaker panel.
 
  #13  
Old 09-21-05, 09:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
A/B/C means nothing, and is not standard.

The proper nomenclature for outlet types are NEMA v-aa
Where V is the voltage designator. For common residenial electric, 5=120V, 6= 240V, 14= 120/240V (1= ungrounded 120V, 20= crowsfoot ungrounded 240V). AA is simply amperes.

With the ground down, two horizontal prongs (- -)are 15A 240V (Nema 6-15), vertical left prong, horizontal right prong, (| -} 240V, 20A V (Nema 6-20). a 30 A 240V (Nema 6-30) is the same configuration as a 15A 240V , but with a larger plug/prongs. Left horizontal, right vertical (- |) is 120V 20A (Nema 5-20).
 
  #14  
Old 09-22-05, 06:02 AM
doug-o
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Then, might I change the 15A 240V receptacle to a 15A 120v receptacle by rewiring the panel and replacing the receptacle. If so, how do I do so?

Thanks...
 
  #15  
Old 09-22-05, 06:10 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Before you talk about changing receptacles or breakers or wiring, please be certain what you have. There seems to be much confusion.

Start with the circuit breaker. What size is it? IS it 120 or 240? Then to the receptacle and the old A/C. You will also eventually have to examine the wiring, but at least start with what you can see.

Then move on to the new unit. What are it's electrical requirements?

Only when you know what you have and what you need can you go forward.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'