working live

Old 09-23-05, 10:12 AM
bigmacgyver
Visiting Guest
Smile working live

hi guys iam new to this forum iam at college at the moment on an electrical installations courses i need to know in what situation an electrician can work LIVE i need about 10 answers [thank you]

Sponsored Links
Old 09-23-05, 11:10 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
bigmacgyver, Welcome to the DIY Forums.
I am not an electrician but this subject has been touched on before. You will probably get at least ten answers that say never. Good luck.

Old 09-23-05, 11:12 AM
I believe that you will find that many people on discussion boards such as this feel that it is cheating to simply give someone answers that they will use in a course.

I personally don't think of it as cheating, seeing as you could go look the answers up in a book, but still won't give such answers out because they defeat the purpose of having homework in the first place. If your instructor wanted you to simply be fed a set of 'these are the situations in which an electrician may work live', then your instructor would have given you the list and you could have read it.

But homework is about practice thinking things through. In this case you need to ask yourself 'why _might_ an electrician want to work live' and then do the research to determine what the requirements for live work actually are.

A far better way to use resources such as this forum for homework would be to come up with a set of situations, and do your own research, and then present the results here for discussion. This in my mind is like writing a paper and then getting a friend to edit it. You do the original work, and then get help from others to improve it.

-Jon

Old 09-23-05, 11:24 AM
GREAT point Winnie. My thinking was running along the lines that at DIY we do not promote unsafe or illegal practices. This is why you will find no info on recharging AC units here.

Old 09-23-05, 11:32 AM
Super Moderator
Received 13 Votes on 13 Posts