gfi with switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-23-05, 06:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
gfi with switch

i have a gfiplug with a switch that i would like to install in my bathroom.
can i replace the switch for the ceiling light with this .the switch there now
has three wires white black green.the new gfi has two black wires coming
out of it and two screws a brass and a silver?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-23-05, 07:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If there are no other wires in the switch box then the answer is definitely no.

If there are other wires in the switch box then the answer is maybe, but probably not.
 
  #3  
Old 09-23-05, 07:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
what if i didn't use a gfi. and just a plug and switch combo?
 

Last edited by John Nelson; 09-25-05 at 01:13 PM. Reason: eliminate blank lines
  #4  
Old 09-23-05, 07:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If there are no other wires in the switch box then the answer is definitely no.

If there are other wires in the switch box then the answer is maybe, but probably not.

There is no difference in the wires necessary for a GFCI receptacle and for a non-GFCI receptacle.
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-05, 05:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks where would i run the wires from to make this work.
 
  #6  
Old 09-24-05, 06:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2,041
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The problem is that the white wire in your box is most likely not a neutral wire; it is part of the switch leg.

In order to have a receptacle, you need a hot and a neutral. You do not have a neutral.
 
  #7  
Old 09-24-05, 07:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
so then i need to run more wires but from where and what wires will i need.
all i want to do is have the switch run the ceiling light and have a plug in the same box.right now there is just a one switch box.so i thought i could use a combo switch plug?thanks again.
 
  #8  
Old 09-24-05, 07:44 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You are talking about a bathroom. Any new receptacle in a bathroom must meet code. Code requires for the circuit to be a 20 amp circuit. The circuit can serve only this one bathroom, or can serve any bathrooms in the residence. If ti serves only this bathroom, then you can power anything in the bathroom from the circuit (lights, exhaust fan, receptacles). If the circuit serves more than one bathroom then the circuit can only serve receptacles.

My suggestion is to run a brand new circuit from the main panel to the bathroom.
 
  #9  
Old 09-24-05, 07:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
so i run power to the new switch plug combo and then to the light?
 
  #10  
Old 09-24-05, 08:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My suggestion is to leave the light alone, and just run a new receptacle.
 
  #11  
Old 09-24-05, 08:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks i'll do just that .
 
  #12  
Old 09-24-05, 08:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
20 amp breaker, 12 gage wire from the circuit breaker panel to the receptacle box, and then a GFCI receptacle.
 
  #13  
Old 09-25-05, 12:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks i installed a new double box with a switch for the light and a new
run from the box to the new gfic thanks for all the info.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: