Four (4) outlet problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-05, 05:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 36
Four (4) outlet problem

I would like to bunch four outlets in a room so that I could have a dedicated line for a computer. The three other outlets would be for a TV an AC and a light. The outlets would be on the third floor of my home. I would drop two #12 wires through the wall to the basement. Now my problem is this: Can I put a box at the point the wires enter the basement, run one larger wire to my circuit breaker box with a 20Amp breaker. That is make one wire take the load of two wires entring the box because I dont have room for too many more breakers. I have 220 electric. Thankyou.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-05, 05:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
No.

You need to either use tandem breakers (if your panel will accept them) or add a sub panel if you have not enough room for the two new circuits.
 
  #3  
Old 09-25-05, 05:33 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
By connecting them to the same breaker, you have eliminated the dedicated line you wanted for your computer.
You can run 12-2 cable (two insulated conductors and one bare ground) connected to the 20A at the panel, and the other end to each receptacle on your third floor circuit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'