Using existing wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-26-05, 12:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Using existing wiring

I am finishing my basement. I have an existing light with one single pole switch controlling it. THe power is run to the light with 14-2 romex and then 14-3 to the switch. Is it possible to make that a 3-way switch using that existing wiring and another switch(and the wiring that goes with that). THe single pole switch shares a 2 gang box with a 4-way on a different circuit and provides power to another outlet. Hopefully this isn't too confusing of a post. I will try to clarify if you ask questions
THanks for all the help
Brent
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-26-05, 01:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
If you are finishing your basement then you should be able to do whatever you want, even if it requires replacing a wire.

If what you are saying is correct, then you can do what you want by running your new wire and switch from the existing switch, or from the light itself. Of course, you can do this anyway with a properly wired switch.
 
  #3  
Old 09-26-05, 01:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Run 14/3 from the existing switch box to the location of the new switch box.
 
  #4  
Old 09-26-05, 01:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
It is always possible to convert a single switch to a three way if you can run a 14/3 from the existing switch to the new switch.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'