Mix 12-2 & 14-3 Wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-28-05, 07:49 AM
silverfox1208
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Mix 12-2 & 14-3 Wiring

Can I use 12-2 for feed to S1 and then use 14-3 to light and then to S2 on 3 Way Switch for 4 or 5 lights on the same switch. Will use 15 amp breaker.
Is there any advantage to using 12-2 as feed and then 14-3 to switches & lights ?
Also can I use a single 14-2 feed on 15 amp breaker to supply 10 lamps (75 watt each), 5 lamps on one 3 Way and 5 on another 3 Way, instead of running 2 (14-2) feeds ?

Thanks for your help !!!!
silverfox1208
 

Last edited by silverfox1208; 09-28-05 at 08:37 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-28-05, 08:11 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2,041
Technically, this is OK. I see no advantage to using the 12; 14 gauge is more than adequate for 5 lamps ( maybe 500 watts, less than 5 amps.)

The problem with mixing gauges is that there is the potential for someone in the future to see the 12 gauge and for some reason increase to a 20 amp breaker, not knowing that there is 14 in the circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-05, 08:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Why are you stating 12-3 and 14-3? The "-3" in this case means three current carrying conductors plus one ground. Do you really mean 12-2 and 14-2, which would be two current carrying conductors and one ground.

Stay with one wire size. It eliminates confusion in the future.
 
  #4  
Old 09-28-05, 08:40 AM
silverfox1208
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by racraft
Why are you stating 12-3 and 14-3? The "-3" in this case means three current carrying conductors plus one ground. Do you really mean 12-2 and 14-2, which would be two current carrying conductors and one ground.

Stay with one wire size. It eliminates confusion in the future.
Sorry, the feed is 12-2. Will use 14-3 for the 3 Way switches ? Thanks for the reply !!!!!
 
  #5  
Old 09-28-05, 10:03 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,774
I know first hand the confusion mentioned above. I was working in the crawlspace in my in-laws lake home and needed electricity in a spot where there was no outlet, but a piece of yellow 12-2 ran right through there with pleny of slack. I went and got a 20 amp outlet and was all set to go, except I couldn't find the breaker to turn of the juice in that wire. After I had turned off all of the 20 amp breakers, I started on the 15s. Sure enough, that's what it was. Would have saved lots of time and many trips in and out of the crawlspace if the electrician had used 14 ga. wire.
 
  #6  
Old 09-28-05, 12:08 PM
d2frette
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by silverfox1208
Sorry, the feed is 12-2. Will use 14-3 for the 3 Way switches ? Thanks for the reply !!!!!
Wouldn't it be more sound to use 12-3 since the feed is 12 ga?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes