house current wall switch for table saw?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-02-05, 08:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: US
Posts: 195
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
house current wall switch for table saw?

My new used table saw has no switch; it was removed some years ago and Craftsman doesn't have the part anymore and I haven't been able to find a similar design replacement. A couple of people have suggested using a jbox and wall switch. I wonder about this. Also, if a standard wall toggle is ok, then what about one of the large designer rocker switches, which could be easier to hit in an emergency? And, would it be better to have the switch power an outlet that the motor plugs into, or cut off the 3-prong plug end of the motor cord and then have this cord connect to the switch and the switch connect to the wall receptacle?

Or maybe use a combination switch/switched-receptacle?

The motor is 1 1/2 hp; 13 amp; 120 v.

Thanks,
-Gary
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-02-05, 10:22 AM
window dude
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
switch question

let me start this out by saying I am no electrician how ever I have several thousand hours on the table saw and you want the switch on the saw where the manufacurer designed it and make the switch as simple as possible to operate I personaly would not recomend a rocker switch as they are too easy
in an emergancy to turn the wrong way. you should also consider a 20 amp outlet wired with 12-2 wire as a 15 amp curcuit is a little light and may get hot and trip
-window dude-
 
  #3  
Old 10-02-05, 10:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,296
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
As window dude said, when you need OFF, you need a no guess, sure fire OFF.
Check with an electric supply house in your area for emergency stop switches. You will have to mount so that it is easily assessable at all times. It needs to be hard wired so that someone doesn't accidently forget to plug the saw into it.
 
  #4  
Old 10-03-05, 12:36 PM
d2frette
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Install one of these if you can. It's an 18amp router table switch. Check that you can install it on your tablesaw. I would guess so.

If the link doesn't work, go to www.Rockler.com and search for product id 63026 or "Router Table Switch."

- Dave

Link:

http://www.rockler.com/ecom7/product...power%20switch
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: