breaker overload

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-07-05, 04:53 PM
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 406
breaker overload

In my kitchen/ television room I have 4 receptacles along the wall...In these receptacles I have my TV and microwave and phone plugged in..when we run the microwave and tv at the same time the breaker trips...the breaker is 15 amp....can i replace the 15 amp with a 20amp breaker ?...I plan on seperating the receptacles when I remodel the kitchen plus adding a few dedicated circuits...Fridge...microwave ...garbage disp..etc...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-07-05, 05:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Not unless you want a fire.
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-05, 07:28 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 52
There is more to it than just changing the breaker. The problem is the wire - mor likely than not you have #14 wire, which handles a max of 15 amps. If you chagne the braker then you will end up melting the wire.
 
  #4  
Old 10-08-05, 05:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Consider running a dedicated outlet for the microwave.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'