tapping into existing wall plug

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-08-05, 02:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 150
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
tapping into existing wall plug

Hi,
Just a quick question. I am going crazy trying to find somewhere to tap into to run a wire into the attic and hook up a ceiling fan n mother's bedroom.
Could someone please tell me if/how I can do this.???
There is a wall plug which I removed and in the back all(4) push in receptacles have a wire. The screws are empty on the side. I realize whoever did the wiring used the push in holes on the back, but can I use the screws to hook up another tap? That would mean 3 wires coming into that socket......I HOPE I explained myself. This seems the easiest way to run the wire to the attic.
Also if I can, how would I do this(using connectors?)
Thanks
George
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-08-05, 03:22 PM
Mr Fixit eh's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 94
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No. You should remove the "backstabbed" wires. If this is a regular duplex receptacle, you would wirenut all the black wires together with a 6" pigtail which will connect to your dark-colored screw. Wirenut all the wite wires together with a 6" pigtail which will connect to the light-colored screw on your receptacle. You will more-than-likely need to replace the electrical box with an extra-deep box in order to meet boxfill requirements. Wirenut all the grounds together with 2 pigtails--one to the receptacle ground screw, one to the ground screw on the box.
 
  #3  
Old 10-08-05, 04:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 150
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
reply

I understand everything except, oh no, I think I just got it.......you mean remove the wires that go into the back of the receptacle and connect the blacks together with a 6" wire(which I connect to the gold screw, and do the same with the whites, and the same with the grounds???
Is that right?
Thanks
George
 
  #4  
Old 10-08-05, 05:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,875
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
Yes, remove the push in wires. Those pushin wire connections a known to be bad. They often give loose connections.
 
  #5  
Old 10-08-05, 05:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 150
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
reply

I understand now....wasn't sure what was meant by pigtail.....but I realize that they are just 6" peces of wire that help hook things together and attach to a screw.


Another question if it's proper.. I have a wall switch that is connected to a receptacle on the wall. When I use the tester light, and put the ends onto the 2 gold screws on the switch(with the switch off)< THE TESTER LIGHTS UP> If I do the same thing with the switch on, the tester does not light up. What does this tell me. This receptacle is not related to my queston in the beginning of my thread.
Thanks
George
 
  #6  
Old 10-08-05, 07:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To answer your original question, although the other have already done so. Legally you can use both the back stab connectors and the screrw terminals. However, you should not do this for the reasons mentioned.

Your experiment tells you that the switch is working properly. However, you could have figured this out without removing the switch, by simply plugging something into the receptacle and flipping the switch.
 
  #7  
Old 10-09-05, 05:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 150
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
re: switch reply

For me this is a little complex asking, but I will try.

If I wanted to tap into the above mentioned wall switch. , could I pigtail into the wall switch to get power and use the switch to turn a ceiling fan on and off. Also how could I hook it up to get Non-switched power to the wall socket, but switched power to the ceiling fan?
Hope I explained myself.
If that can't be done, I will use my original plan which started the thread. But, the second option means less drilling.....thanks
George
 
  #8  
Old 10-09-05, 06:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To answer your question properly, we need to know the wires at the wall switch. Open that box and tell us all the wires there, and how they are connected. Also tell uss the wires at the switched receptacle and how they are connected.
 
  #9  
Old 10-09-05, 08:10 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,875
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
You can rewire the switch to give contant power to the receptacle and switched power to a new cable to the ceiling fan. How you rewire depends on where the oewr comes in, switch or receptacle. If power comes into receptacle then some rewireing at receptacle will probably be required.
 
  #10  
Old 10-09-05, 09:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 150
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
reply

Thanks for everyone's patience. I have to go with original pigtail method. The only little problem that is creeping up is that the new(deeper) box I put in is stickng out a bit......any suggestions on covering it with a wallplate so it doesn't stick out as much? Maybe a decorative plate would be deeper?
Thanks, again.
George
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: