throwing breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-11-05, 09:19 AM
siggia
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
throwing breaker

i disconnected an existing row of wall lights from a switch. i ran the switch to a newly installed set(4) of ceiling cans. when i turned the breaker that operated this switch back on i throw its breaker as well as another breaker. when i disconnect the new lights from the switch and turn the breaker back on i am still throwing the switch breaker and the unrelated breaker.

Why would i still be throwing the unrelated breaker?

any thoughts would be appreciated
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-11-05, 09:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You have a short somewhere. Check the wiring. It also sounds like you somehow combined two circuits.
 
  #3  
Old 10-11-05, 09:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Was there a white wire connected to the switch? I believe you might have tapped a switch loop.

Did you change any wiring at any existing light fixtures?

Are there any red wires in any of the boxes you're dealing with?
 
  #4  
Old 10-11-05, 09:35 AM
siggia
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
if i did have a short in the other set of lights would they work when this switch is not on?

there is only the standard black and white wire in the switch.

behind the first light in the wall set it was wired three ways. to the light switch , to the first light and to a junction box that seems to continues to other outlets.

there are no red wires. one wire coming in has purple tape on it.
 
  #5  
Old 10-11-05, 09:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I agree with John, you tapped a switch loop. This is something you cannot do. Put the wiring back the way it was and find another power source.
 
  #6  
Old 10-11-05, 09:44 AM
siggia
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
are you saying that at end of the last wall light in continues on to something else?

because all i am looking to do is take the existing power supply to arow of lights disconnect it and run a different set of lights off it.
 
  #7  
Old 10-11-05, 10:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
where are you trying to grab the power from, and what wires are present at that location?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'