Quick subpanel question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-12-05, 11:35 AM
Gizzorge's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 95
Question Quick subpanel question

I am installing a small 60 A, 240V subpanel in my attached garage. The subpanel is on the outside wall of the room the main breaker panel is in.

Do I need a main breaker for the subpanel if it is protected by a 60A breaker in the main box?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-05, 11:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
No........
 
  #3  
Old 10-12-05, 11:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,219
A subpanel in an attached structure does not require a 'main'.

You may find that it is _cheaper_ to buy a 100A panel kit with a main breaker at one of the 'big box' stores than a 60A main lug panel. It is totally fine to feed a 100A rated panel with a 60A feeder protected by a 60A breaker.

-Jon
 
  #4  
Old 10-12-05, 12:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 510
Originally Posted by John Nelson
No........
Now that's what I call a quick subpanel answer to a quick subpanel question .

If the subpanel is in another room from the main panel you may find it useful to have the ability to kill the power locally that a main breaker would provide...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'