basement subpanel help

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-17-05, 12:28 PM
tazrob
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
basement subpanel help

HELP!!!!

This is my first experiance with subpanels. I am finishing my basement into an apartment like area. I have framed everything and started to run the wiring. but my main panel is just about full, plus it would be better for the panel to be in the basement, so I have started to look into subpanels and I am getting a little overwhemled. Here is what I have in the basement room by room.

A home office, 3 computers, 2 reading lights, an overhead light, plus 4
additional outlets

A craft room, 5 outlets, 3 hardwired craft lights, an overhead light and
looking into the future would like a kinlin in there to fire ceramics

A home Gym, 7 outlets (radio and tv dvd/vcr combo) an overhead light

A walk in closet, 4 outlets, 1 overhead light

A storage closet, 1 overhead light

A wet bar, 4 outlets, bar lights, recessed lights and a fridge

An Entertainment room, outlets for home theater system (tv, dvd, cable box,
4 game systems, stereo lighting) recessed lighting, 5 additional outlets,
movie poster boxes (lighted)

A Game room, air hockey table, slot machine, rail lit pool table, 2 game
room lights, recessed lighting, 4 additional outlets

Currently wired into the basement is a hot water heater and a grinder for sewer

I would like to place each room on its own curcuit or curcuits. Any advise on supplies, wire sizes, breaker sizes? I would like to buy the supplies even if I have become overwhemled with the wiring and might get an outside person to help finish it up.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-17-05, 02:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
How many square feet is the basement total? And how many square feet are you finishing?

I'd install a 12-space (or 16-space) subpanel, fed by 6/3 from a 60-amp double-pole breaker. Use all 12-gauge wiring, and all 20-amp circuits.
  1. Use one circuit for nothing but computer equipment.
  2. Use one circuit for the wet bar.
  3. Use one circuit for the home theater.
  4. Use one or two circuits for all the lighting (depending on the total wattage). Put lighting and receptacles on separate circuits.
  5. As per your plan, use one circuit per room for the receptacles in that room.
  6. No bathroom?
  7. Four outlets in the closet? What's up with that?
These are not codes. Just recommendations.
 
  #3  
Old 10-17-05, 03:14 PM
d2frette
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by John Nelson
Four outlets in the closet? What's up with that?
Hey, a closet is a wonderful place to put battery chargers - out of the sight of the wife . Just my $.02.
 
  #4  
Old 10-18-05, 09:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Figure for kiln power, maybe just run a 6/3 from the main for it.

If you are going to get a treadmill or the like, often they need their own 20A circuit, so figure on that.

I'd tend to maybe consider two 20A circuits for the HT, and a separate circuit for the room.
 
  #5  
Old 10-18-05, 05:47 PM
tazrob
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by John Nelson
How many square feet is the basement total? And how many square feet are you finishing?
1460 sq feet
The finished basement will be all sq feet.

btw the closet will be a 10 X 13 cedar closet and my wife plans on also using it as a type of dressing room.

Thanks all for the info picture is coming clearer
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes