Relocating 220 outlet


  #1  
Old 10-19-05, 07:04 AM
dsb2a
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Relocating 220 outlet

I am relocating my dryer from the basement to the upstairs. It is 3 prong 220. Would it be best to run a new line from the fuse box (twist in type) or could I splice into the existing line? Thanks for the help.
 
  #2  
Old 10-19-05, 07:26 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You need to run a new FOUR wire line for the dryer. Three wire lines are no longer permitted, meaning that you cannot extend this circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 10-19-05, 10:13 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
If the cable to the existing out-let box is "10/3" Non-metallic cable with 3 insulated conductors and a bare Grounding-condutor, or "10/3" Armored cable which is 3 insulated conductors enclosed in a metallic jacket, you can extend the circuit and connect the required 4-slot receptacle.

Good Luck and Learn & Enjoy from the Experience!!!!!!!!
 
  #4  
Old 10-19-05, 10:36 AM
dsb2a
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the info guys.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: