Amperage Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-20-05, 08:20 AM
Travis Bickle
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Amperage Question

Hello, new and very glad I found the forums! And I hope this posts in the right forum. When testing electric motor (12v) on the bench, how can I tell how many amps it is pulling. Can I use my fluke multimeter for this?
Thank You.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-20-05, 08:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2,041
You need to have an approximate idea of how many amps the motor is running, and what amp ranges are available on your meter. If appropriate, then the meter leads are plugged into jacks probably labeled COMMON and AMPS. The meter leads are then placed in series with one of the motor leads. If the meter is analog, you need to carefully observe proper polarity in the hookup.

Be very sure what you are doing, because this measuring current incorectly usually results in a fried meter.
 
  #3  
Old 10-20-05, 08:44 AM
Travis Bickle
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you, my meter is a clamp meter fluke #36, it is digital and also has 36" long red & black probes. The motor is a blower for a automobile heater and it should not pull more than 15 amps but I think it is.
Thank You.
 
  #4  
Old 10-20-05, 10:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Virginia
Posts: 192
If you have a clamp meter you don't have to go to all that trouble. Just set it to measure DC current and clamp on to one of the power leads.
 
  #5  
Old 10-20-05, 04:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 719
Go to FLUKE.com on the net, they have a manual for the # 36 that may-may help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes