Old Dial meter vs new digital

Old 10-20-05, 09:20 PM
MaryL53
Visiting Guest
Old Dial meter vs new digital

Hi, I am new to this. We just had our electrical box updated to a 200 amp with new breakers. The power company did not give us a new meter. Are the newer digital meters better than the old dial meters? We were told the digital are faster and can cost us more in electricity bills unlike the older ones with a little dust and dirt in them that cause them to run slower. Your input please. We thought the digital was mandatory now when you upgrade. I live in southwestern Pa.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-21-05, 03:47 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
The meter is up to the POCO. If they want/need to replace it they do.
When I do a service change, and the meter is one of those old style "A frame" meters, the POCO comes later to install a new meter since the old one cannot be used.

A digital meter will not run "faster" and cost you "more". It will give a very accurate reading of usage. The biggest advantage is the ability to read them on the fly. They can shoot a reader from the truck as opposed to driving/walking up to each meter and taking a reading. Of course, this does nothing for the waistline of the utility worker.

As for the dust issue. I've never heard this. Sounds like suburban legend to me. It is also a mild form of cheating. I'm not saying lowering you utility bill a few cents would be a bad thing, but it is still cheating.

Old 10-21-05, 05:15 AM
A spinning disk power meter works as follows: a torque is induced upon the disk which is proportional to the power flowing through the meter. A separate magnet induces a drag torque on the disk which is proportional to disk speed. The net result is that the speed of the disk is proportional to the power flowing through the meter.