reduction from 50 amp 220 to 30 amp 110

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-22-05, 08:20 AM
nate01
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question reduction from 50 amp 220 to 30 amp 110

i want to us wiring from old water heater(triangle type wire, 2/8 and ground).
I have purchased a cut off box and a 30amp breaker. can i use just one leg of the 50 amp 220 and ground to the 30 amp breaker?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-22-05, 09:06 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
What do you want 30 amp 120 for?

The black wire needs to connect to the 30 amp breaker and the white wire needs to become the neutral.
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-05, 08:08 AM
nate01
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
50 amp red. to 30 amp

i will be plugging in a travel trailer, that runs on 30 amps.
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-05, 08:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
How many wires and what color/insulation are they in this cable?
 
  #5  
Old 10-24-05, 09:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Are you sure that the existing breaker is 50 amps? Water heaters generally already use 30-amp breakers. Check again.

Water heaters are wired with two hots and one ground. Your travel trailer needs one hot, one neutral, and one ground. So you have the right number of wires, but not the right kind. If the existing hots are black and white, then you can convert this circuit merely by moving the white wire in the panel to the neutral bar, and replacing the receptacle with a 30-amp 120-volt receptacle. If the breaker really is 50 amps, you'll need to change the breaker too. But if the existing hots are black and red (or black and black), you'll need a new cable with black and white instead.
 
  #6  
Old 10-25-05, 08:50 AM
nate01
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Mr racraft,
the exsisting house wires are black and white #8 with a ground, insulation is light brown.

Mr. nelson
I am positive the existing breaker is 50 amp, yes i did consider replacing the breaker and placing the white wire to the neutral bar, but just dont care to mess around inside the breaker box. I was hoping to wire nut-off one hot from the 50 amp breaker,use one hot to energize the 30 amp breaker in a separate box, with the ground to the bar.after saying that i think i might understand why i cant do this. Doing it this way will leave a gap in the common run...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'