ground problems I think guitars and home electronics

Old 10-22-05, 07:03 PM
starfox
Visiting Guest
ground problems I think guitars and home electronics

So I have this little studio in my basement with computers, guitar amps the works. I run everything threw a surge protector on one outlet. Latelly Ive been getting static sounds threw my amp that cease when I touch something metal. Also little shocks from guitar strings and the metal grates that cover the speakers on my laptop. I had a new circuit breaker installed when I bought the house. The ground from the box is fastened to the pipes on my hot water tank. It hasent always been like this with the static sounds and shocks. Any advice? How can I fix this? Im a newbie to home improvement.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-22-05, 07:20 PM
The ground from the box is fastened to the pipes on my hot water tank.
This is a dangerous and illegal ground. You'd be better off without it. You may have an interconnection of the grounding and neutral wires somewhere on the circuit, and current may be flowing on your water pipes. That could kill somebody. I don't know who installed this ground, but it was an extremely unwise idea.

Old 10-22-05, 07:35 PM
starfox
Visiting Guest
OK so I ran a extension from the other side of the basement and pluged my guitar amp in and NO STATIC!!!!!!! So does that mean the outlet I was using is bad can I just replace it?

Old 10-22-05, 08:50 PM
starfox
Visiting Guest
Originally Posted by John Nelson
This is a dangerous and illegal ground. You'd be better off without it. You may have an interconnection of the grounding and neutral wires somewhere on the circuit, and current may be flowing on your water pipes. That could kill somebody. I don't know who installed this ground, but it was an extremely unwise idea.

Should I contact who installed this or contact someone else to report such a thing? I have 2 baby girls. I feel totally pissed

Old 10-23-05, 09:22 AM