Dead Receptacles

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-23-05, 01:10 PM
Xroadwarrior2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Dead Receptacles

I have three dead receptacleson one wall and the range hood has quit working also. I've replaced all three as well as the breakers and they are still dead. Any help?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-23-05, 01:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Are these the only things on the circuit? Have you tested for power with a plug in type tester or any tester?

If there are other items on the circuit then check those locations as well. You may have a an open connection at a working location on the circuit.

Have you considered that a GFCI may be involved?
 
  #3  
Old 10-23-05, 01:35 PM
Xroadwarrior2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Dead Receptacles

There was an attic fan wired in years ago but has never been used. They wired it in the attic. Wondering if wires there are loose as the range hood was last thing wired in cicuit about 20 years ago.
 
  #4  
Old 10-23-05, 01:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You need to figure out where you have power and where you don't. Check each location on the circuit. Remake all connections as you go along. Use a two wire tester and check for power at each location.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'