Light switch to switch and outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-26-05, 02:20 PM
jackneedshelp
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Light switch to switch and outlet

I would like to change an existing switch to a switch and outlet. There is a black wire and a grey wire going to the existing switch. I already have the new switch/outlet and am ready to go.


Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-26-05, 02:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
If there are only two wires in the switch box, one gray and one black, then this cannot be done without more wire (unless you are willing to make whatever the switch controls now always on).
 
  #3  
Old 10-26-05, 02:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Jack,

Your other alternative (assuming that there really are only two wires in the box) is to replace the existing wire with a new wire (or add another wire if the wires are run in conduit).

What does the switch control, and what room in the house is this in?
 
  #4  
Old 10-27-05, 01:00 PM
jackneedshelp
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The switch controls a closet light. I'd like to store a rechargeable flightlight in the closet on the wall.

Inside the box are multiple wires. There are only two wires to the current switch.
 
  #5  
Old 10-27-05, 01:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
Tell us all the wires, colors and how they are connected. Leave out the bare grounds. They should be all connected together.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'