220 Line; Do I need it?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-27-05, 02:24 PM
REPOGIRL
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
220 Line; Do I need it?

Here is my situation: I have moved into a house that does not have a fridge in the kitchen, nor does it have a 220 Line. Here is my question; can I run a fridge off of a 110 line? If I can this will save me LOTS of money. By the way,Hi there my name is Angela and this is the first time I have ever posted a question. Thanks in advance for any info you can provide.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-27-05, 02:46 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,533
Angela,

Only commercial refrigerators would require a 240V connection. All residential fridges will plug in to a standard 120V household receptacle. Good luck.
 
  #3  
Old 10-27-05, 02:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
A fridge does not need 220, unless its some kind of big, industrial model (I guess those might be 220).

The 110 receptical should be fine for a standard fridge, It would be nice to have a dedicated circuit just for the fridge, but that is not usually absolutely necessary.
 
  #4  
Old 10-27-05, 06:14 PM
Stevetra's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Asheboro, NC
Posts: 348
so, I guess the answer is yes...and its easier than you thought.
 
  #5  
Old 10-28-05, 07:22 AM
REPOGIRL
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
220 line; Thanks

Wonderful; and thank you very much for your replies. I will be buying a small apartment size fridge, well provided I can find a VERY CHEAP one. Have a good day !! I am sure I will be back very soon.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes