Adding a wall outlet?

Old 11-01-05, 10:22 AM
Geoff
Visiting Guest
Adding a wall outlet?

I am in the process of getting my cable modem / router wiring "hidden", and have settled on a top shelf in a large closet / pantry as the best spot.

I can easily run wires into the attic as necessary, and two main rooms requiring connects are separated by the closet.

My only problem is getting power for the cable modem and router inside the closet. There is a wall outlet on an exterior wall about 3' away, and this closet / pantry is in the kitchen (fan wiring in attic above?).

What is the best way to add an outlet there? Will I need to get permits for this kind of work?

I'm a total newbie at home repair, so speak slowly =)

Thanks,

- Geoff

Sponsored Links
Old 11-01-05, 10:33 AM
I cant answer about adding an outlet, but my first question is have you actually tried the router in this location and are you comfortable with the range. Typically they work best line-of-sight and up high (radio waves tend to fall downward), but going through walls and doors can impede the signal.

Old 11-01-05, 10:37 AM
Geoff
Visiting Guest
Originally Posted by ds7771
I cant answer about adding an outlet, but my first question is have you actually tried the router in this location and are you comfortable with the range. Typically they work best line-of-sight and up high (radio waves tend to fall downward), but going through walls and doors can impede the signal.
Yes, this location is both central to the most important areas, and also up high. The router is currently located about 5 feet away (on the floor) of where its new location would be. Performance is fine ..

Old 11-01-05, 10:58 AM
assemblo
Visiting Guest
Ahhhhh