Mobile home with aluminum wiring

Old 11-08-05, 03:16 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mobile home with aluminum wiring

First off. Let me introduce myself. I am new to the forum as of this minute. I am a builder, remodeler and mostly these days...have gravitated up to be a rental housing maintenance man, so I am well rounded in many fields of construction and repair. From building to working on high efficiency furnaces, I have experience.

I also own mobile homes. One of them has the dreaded aluminum wiring. (There were about 2 million places this was put into between 1965 and 1973) When yu read internet sites about this, you get anything from...'you want to get rid of it', to...'don't over-react...it can be fixed'. Well, I don't know about you, but I have seen enough with my own eyes to be scared of it. I am not going to get into all the technical reasons *why* the connections can lead to problems. But to make it simple...let's just say that when contact is not sufficient between an outlet terminal screw and the aluminum wiring, it can cause intense heat and melt the outlet and melt the insulation around the wire for several inches back and cause the aluminum wire to be brittle.

Outlets are the main culprit. There is only one *approved* way to remedy this and that is to use a special crimp connector, where new copper is crimped to the aluminum. That is the only approved way. However some electricians have used non-recommended quick-fixes by using wire nuts and oxguard where they pig-tail new copper wire to the aluminum, back at some point where the aluminum wire is still supple.

*I* have made a few repairs in the trailer myself. But, the tenants got scared and moved out. I don't blame them. The internet is full of sites that bring up specific cases where people have *died* in aluminum wiring fires.