240 V question (yes, it's spa related)

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-09-05, 07:38 PM
g92069
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
240 V question (yes, it's spa related)

Ran 4 #6 wires (2 hot, 1 grnd, 1 nuetral) from 50amp breaker in house panel to 50 amp GFCI breaker in Spa subpanel. Same 4 wires into spa. Spa works fine.

Had to move spa, wires too short. Had to lengthen wires less than 6 inches each in order to reach (extended in the spa subpanel). I used Thomas & Betts Aluminum Splicer/reducer (ASR0214-B2) to accomplish this.

Now none of the 240 equipment on the spa works. It appears as if i am only receiving 1/2 power (120V) to the spa as the lights come on, display works, etc. According to spa mfg. I am not receiving 240v to the spa to power pumps and heater.

Any hints, tips, or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
G
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-10-05, 04:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Redo your connection.
 
  #3  
Old 11-10-05, 04:47 AM
g92069
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I checked all of the connections yesterday. I will pull everything today and ensure all of my connections are correct and tight. Of course, I believe they are now.

Is there any other reason(s) other than a connectiveity issue why the spa is not receiving full power?

Thanks for your assistance, it is appreciated.

G
 
  #4  
Old 11-10-05, 05:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I don't understand the issue? Do you have 240 volts to the sub panel? Do you have 240 volts after your splice? If you have 240 volts before your splice, but not after your splice then your splice is bad. Either that or you damaged the cable somewhere else, which you would probably notice.
 
  #5  
Old 11-10-05, 05:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,219
Try cycling the upstream breaker a couple of times. It is possible that it didn't turn on correctly.

I presume that you have your splices taped, which makes them a pain to check. But racraft is correct; if you have 240V upstream of the splice, and not downstream of the splice, then there is a problem in the splice. _Somewhere_ one of your 'hot' conductors is disconnected, at a switch, at a break in the wire, at the splice, or in a circuit breaker.

-Jon
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'