need advice to properly site my generator

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-14-05, 08:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
need advice to properly site my generator

I have a large heavy duty 4 cylinder standby autostart generator that I want to install outside in its own little shed. The place I would like to put it is about 100 feet away from the main panel in my home. Assuming I run the proper gauge wire taking the distance into account is that a bad idea? Will I lose a lot of power because of the distance?
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-14-05, 08:50 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will I lose a lot of power because of the distance?
Not if you "run the proper gauge wire taking the distance into account." But the proper gauge wire taking the distance into account may be pretty expensive.
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-05, 09:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What gauge wire would it take to run 62.5 amps at 240v 100-130 feet? The unit is capable of 15k watts. I am not sure of the surge capability but I am told it can start a motor up to 300% of the running watts.
 
  #4  
Old 11-14-05, 09:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"Will I lose power because of the distance"----- yes, if the selection of the conductor-size is based on the load-current, measured in amps, only.

The power- loss is proportional to the square of the current, i.e., P = IxI XR, with I=current -value in amps, and R = the conductor resistance.

For a load-current = 20 amps, the P-L in the conductors = 20 X 20 X R = 400 X R watts. For a load current = 50 amps, the P-L = 50 X 50 X R = 2500 X R = 2500XR watts.
With a conductor-resistance = .1 Ohm, the P-L = 2500 X .1 =250 watts. You will note P-L increases "exponentially"

You will have to submit an appox load in watts/ kilowatts that you propose supply from the generator for an accurate calculation to determine the required conductor-size.

Good Luck & Learn & Enjoy from the Experience!!!!!!!11
 
  #5  
Old 11-14-05, 09:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PATTBAA I am down the street in Stamford. I grew up in Greenwich and my wife is from P.C. I am not exactly sure what I expect the generator to supply in watts. It has a 15,000 watt normal running load rating. Do I round up some for this? I intend to power my entire house. I don't want to run a separate panel.
 
  #6  
Old 11-14-05, 09:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I advise #2 copper conductors.

The resistance of 1000 ft of #2 = .156 Ohms ,so you can calculate the P-L for 60 amps with this value. Remember---- a 130 "lineal" distance = 130 X 2 for the "circuit-lenth"
of the conductors.

What is the maximum HP-rating of the largest motor that will operate from the generator?
 
  #7  
Old 11-14-05, 09:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I should check my AC compressors but I believe the 1hp pool pump is the largest I would run. I could not see where on the generator to ground the unit. Don't they all require a grounding rod to be located near the unit?
 
  #8  
Old 11-14-05, 12:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Steve:

Please contact me via my EMA------- [email protected]

We can arrange a meeting in order to "engineer" a sucessful project. Please be assured that any & all advise & assistance I provide is "pro bono"--- be glad to help you--

I once was the chief electrician at Stamford Hospital.

Cheers, Al B.
 
  #9  
Old 11-14-05, 12:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Normally, we edit out email addresses in posts, and somebody may yet do so, but I'm not sure why we have this rule. If you want to open yourself up to spam, I don't know why we'd care.
 
  #10  
Old 11-14-05, 03:22 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
#2cu for 62 amps @ 240v at only 130' ???
Sounds like overkill to me. #4 would be plenty.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: