Testing circuits

Old 12-07-05, 07:48 AM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Testing circuits

I thought I had seen somewhere a two part device. One part would connect to the breaker on your panel, the other you could plug into outlets. This would help determine which outlets are on the circuit. I can't seem to find it now. Am I going nuts? I am looking for a simple device so I can check how my house is wired to what breaker.

Thanks,
Neil

Old 12-07-05, 07:54 AM
R
Found them. Now, anyone have experience with any brands? the one I found was not really highly rated.

Thanks
Neil

Old 12-07-05, 08:22 AM
R
I applaud your wanting to properly identify what receptacles, lights and appliances are on each circuit. This is something that EVERYONE should do shortly after moving into a new house or apartment. Not only is the information invaluable when there is a problem, it can save your life in an emergency.

I have no direct experience with the devices you are discussing. I have heard that some of them are not as accurate as they could be, and that they get you close to the actual breaker. Personally, I don’t see them as having much value for your task, rather I see them as being better suited to trying to identify a single circuit's breaker, so that you can avoid turning off other circuits. For your task you will be turning off all the circuit breakers anyway, so using the device may not save any time.

I suggest that you get someone to help you. Turn on every light in your house and all other devices, such as televisions, radios, etc. The idea is that you want something plugged into as many receptacles as you can. Then one by one turn off a breaker and identify what no longer works. This will involve not only walking around and looking/listening for devices no longer on, but also probably moving one or more portable devices from one receptacle or another.