AFCI protected circuit problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-29-05, 11:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 455
Question AFCI protected circuit problem

I installed an 20 amp AFCI breaker for a new bedroom. The test at the panel works fine. However, when I plug in any device to any of the outlets on this circuit, the breaker trips. There is a j-box between the panel and the first outlet. There are 3 branches leaving this j-box (one to the outlets, one to the ceiling fan/light, and one to a thermostat that controls the electric heat panels) but only the outlets are currently installed.

I have not yet checked the connections in the j-box or the common and ground connections in the panel to make sure they are all tight. Am I correct in assuming that the problem must be a loose connection at one of these locations? Is there any other possibility?

If there's a short I would think that the breaker would trip without any device plugged in. Is that correct?

Thanks, Joe

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-29-05, 12:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,065
Joe, do you have the pigtail of the afci connected to the neutral bar and the neutral (white) of the branch circuit connected to the afci lug. If not the afci will trip as soon as you put a load on the circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 11-29-05, 12:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,065
***********
 
  #4  
Old 11-29-05, 12:27 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,820
Likes Received: 14
It sounds like your neutrals and grounds have become connected somewhere in the circuit. Perhaps you have a bare ground wire touching the white wires in a receptacle box when you packed the wires in. Pull the receptacles out and check for this problem.
 
  #5  
Old 11-29-05, 12:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 455
Originally Posted by Roger
Joe, do you have the pigtail of the afci connected to the neutral bar and the neutral (white) of the branch circuit connected to the afci lug. If not the afci will trip as soon as you put a load on the circuit.
If I recall correctly, I connected the white circuit wire (common) to the common buss which would have been correct with a standard breaker. Of course this is wrong for an AFCI breaker and I need to connect it to the common screw on the AFCI breaker.

Thanks for the brain tickler.......
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes