unsure??

Old 11-29-05, 01:58 PM
jazzyy
Visiting Guest
unsure??

Newbie here and definately not an electrician!!Situation/question: I've installed 5 outlet boxes on top of our living room wall(we have a 20" bulk head that runs around our living room).I've run all the wiring and installed the outlets.Now the fun part!I'm tying into an exsisting outlet in the kitchen/dining area.I've ran a line from the existing to the new switch (to only turn on/off the 5 new outlets),Then i ran a line from the new switch to the 1st new outlet.Turned on the breaker and nothing.Do i need to run another line from existing rec.to the 1st new box as well?I have another question about the new switch and how it's supposed to be wired but i'll send that after i can get help on this !!Any help is appreciated,thanks,John note: these new boxes i'm installing are only gonna be used for small lighted houses for the holidays(if that's any help)

Sponsored Links
Old 11-29-05, 02:04 PM
Well, first and foremost you need to find another source for power. You cannot tap into a kitchen/dining circuit. You would create a code violation.

As for what you did wrong, we can't answer that until us exactly how you wired things.

Old 11-29-05, 02:13 PM
jazzyy
Visiting Guest
well i was gonna tie into the receptcle on the other side of this partition wall but when i removed the plate there was no where to tie in ?I don't want to violate any codes and/or blow the house up!! There is another outlet on another wall in the living room which i might be able to tie into but i'll tell ya with cathedral ceilings in here i'm limited to where to get power from,John

Old 11-29-05, 02:16 PM
Well you could go all the way back to the panel and create a new circuit.

Old 11-29-05, 02:20 PM
jazzyy
Visiting Guest
Damm!! I thought this was gonna be a simple thing thread giving the wife a few new outlets for christmas !!Looks like she will be getting extension cords hanging down all over the place instead!John