Bathroom outlet problem

Old 11-30-05, 12:33 PM
GeorgiaGirl
Visiting Guest
Bathroom outlet problem

I am brand new to perusing the site and have found some great info. But my specific situation is this:

Using 1875 watt hair dryer this morning as usual in my upstairs bathroom, with curling iron also plugged in to same dual outlet and with bathroom light on. After about 5 minutes the dryer and iron went off and my husband's bathroom light downstairs as well as the power strip in his adjacent room went out. He went to the breaker box, found it tripped (?), reset it, then I tried it again and off they all went again.

Finally, I unplugged my iron and used only the dryer, and the dryer worked but the downstairs bathroom lights dimmed slightly.

The downstairs bathroom outlet has a GFCI but the upstairs bathroom does not. It seems that the home inspector did not catch this 1.5 years ago when we bought the home. The home is about 18 years old.

First, I believe that there may be something loose inside the upstairs, non-GFCI outlet because I have previously noticed that the upper outlet of the duo will deliver power and then stop (in other words, the light on my iron will go off and on with a little wiggle of the plug). So, should we simply tighten the screws and wires inside the outlet, or replace the outlet with a GFCI, or call an electrician? I have not yet tested my dryer at other outlets. Any ideas?

Sponsored Links
Old 11-30-05, 12:56 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That hairdryer uses practically all the capacity of the circuit. Don't try to run anything else at the same time. Furthermore, the hairdryer will dim the lights every time. This is not necessarily a sign of trouble.

Appliance manufacturers are just responding to consumer demand, but I don't think that hairdryers as large as 1875 watts are a good idea. Most people would be better served by a lower-wattage appliance.