Motor conversion 220 to 120

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-05-05, 05:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Motor conversion 220 to 120

Hello,

I am considering buying a 220v dust collection sys from a friend. I do not have 220v in my house (other than the dryer) and would rather not wire for just the dust collector. Can I convert the existing motor to 120? If so any ideas how?

Thank you.

Happy and safe holiday season to all!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-05-05, 06:07 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,065
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Its very likely that you will be able to do this. You need to look at the nameplate on the motor for its voltage requirements. If the motor can be wired 120 volt the voltage block on the nameplate will have 120/240 or 115/230. If it shows 120 volt then a wiring diagram is commonly present it the wiring enclosure (sometimes on the inside of the cover plate) of the motor or there will be a diagram of the connections for 120 or 240 on the name plate itself. If no wiring diagram is present and it says 120/240 on the nameplate of motor of the dust collector then you will have to have the owners manual or contact the manufacturer for wiring instructions.

Also when you convert to 120 you will double your amps required for the motor. This may or may not have an impact on whether you will be able to use this on a typical 120 volt 15 amp or 20 amp circuit in your home. It will depend on the horsepower of the motor.
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-05, 06:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To emphasize what Roger said: When you convert this motor to 120 (if you can convert this motor to 120) you will double the amps required. Generally, if this dust collector was set up for 220, it probably requires enough power that it will need its own circuit, either at 120V or 220V. This means that you will probably have to run a new wire for this dust collector, and if you are doing so, you might as well make it a 220V circuit.

However you should look at the nameplate for the motor, and see if a) it can run at 120 and b) what the amp requirement will be.

-Jon
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-05, 06:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You will (most likely) need a dedicated circuit for this unit at either voltage, so you should leave it at 240 volts unless you have a specific reason not to.
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-05, 06:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check into what it would take to get a 240-volt circuit. It's not that big of a deal.
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-05, 11:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Re:

Wow, great info. Thanks! I will be back with how it all turns out.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: