Update electric service

Old 12-05-05, 07:25 PM
flg8tor
Visiting Guest
Update electric service

Hello
I am new to the site and have a few question we just purchased a home in Florida that was built in 1969 how can I tell if the wiring itself needs to be updated or just the service panel we want to add centeral heat and air and build a new kitchen and dining room in the existing garage . Please help don't have alot of capital and trying to do alot of the work ourselves.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-05-05, 07:38 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What you need is a "demand load calculation". Various home wiring books explain how to do it, or you can google that term. You'll come up with something like this web site.

Old 12-05-05, 08:07 PM
flg8tor
Visiting Guest
Upgrade service

will this help me tell if my wire is sufficent or not I am new to this , this is our first house

Old 12-05-05, 08:12 PM
J
If the calculation says that you need a service upgrade, then you'll need to ask your power company if their existing service wires can handle the increased size of the service. Also, I'll note that a service upgrade is not a DIY project, except by an exceptionally experienced DIYer.

Old 12-05-05, 08:15 PM
B
I worked for a contractor in the late 60's and early 70's here in Florida and if I remember correctly, aluminum wiring was starting to be used in many homes around this period. Your home may have been built before they started using it in a lot of new homes. I am not sure if this is the case with your home but it should be looked at in my opinion. I am no help as I have very little experience with wiring but many on this site will tell you what to do if you have the aluminum wiring.

Old 12-05-05, 08:53 PM
robprime
Visiting Guest
Yes, do check that the wiring is not aluminum. From what I've just been reading, aluminum is responsible for a bunch of home fires, particularly mobile homes. And it was used quite extensively in the 70's in general home construction.

Rob