help newbie with light switch

Old 12-11-05, 11:59 AM
help newbie with light switch

I'm very new to wiring and need some guidance. I have an existing 3-way light switch that controls the cellar lights. This switch is located at the top of the stairwell. There is another switch downstairs that controls the same lights. I want to add a ceiling light to go above the top of the stairwell and I want it to be controlled with all the other cellar lights. Here is what I have:
Currently the existing switch has a red, black and white wire. I have run two wire romex from the ceiling light into the outlet box that the switch is in. This has one black, one white, and one bare wire. My light switch has two screw on each side. On one side is a gold screw at the top with a green screw on the bottom. On the other side there is a gold screw at the top with a black screw on the bottom. I also have a brand new switch that has just a green screw on one side, with two gold's on the other. Not sure if it matters which one I use. Can someone guide me on what connects to what, which colors together, etc? I'm so close to being done this project I'm just a little fuzzy on how this should connect. Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 12-11-05, 12:41 PM
epags
Visiting Guest
A web site with diagrams

Perhaps this website will illustrate what you are trying to do:
http://www.handymanwire.com/articles/3wayswitch.html

Old 12-11-05, 01:47 PM
unfortunately, I'm still confused. I just need to know what wires connect where. The existing switch that I am dealing with, I guess you could consider, it is at the "end of a run". It only has three wires coming into it, a black red and white wire. Now all I want is to add a light to this end of the circuit, using 2 wire romex, black and white. Can anyone tell me which wires go on the switch, which ones get wired together with a wire nut, etc?

Old 12-11-05, 01:55 PM
You can't do what you want from this switch box, for two reasons: