Adding a panel in a shed

Old 12-11-05, 10:28 PM
Adding a panel in a shed

I have been doing commerical work for a few years now and have never done anything residential whatsoever, so I am not sure if there is a difference b/t adding panels in either field. A neighbor down the road wants to add a panel in his shed to have some lights and a few receptacles so he can work on some of his little projects. It will not require much but I figure a 100 amp panel is all he would need. His main electrical meter is on a pole at the road, not on his house. The house is not very close to the shed and all the spaces are filled in his house panel, so I cannot come off of that without adding a subpanel, plus I doubt that panel could handle a subpanel anyway, being only a 125 amp 8 space panel. To feed the new shed panel, I was going to add a 100 amp breaker in the main panel at the road and feed the new panel with 2-2-4 urd. The question I have is will 2-2-4 be sufficient in this case or will I need 2-2-2-4 or 2-2-4 with a seperate #6 wire for a ground. At the new panel, can I just drive in a ground rod, and drop the ground there instead of running it back to the panel at the road, since the shed is detached from the house and basically seperate, or do I have to attach it to an electrode and also take it back to the road? I was planning on running the neutral back to the road, and NOT bonding it in the new panel much like we do in commerical.

I am thinking I will need to take both the neutral and ground back to the meter, as that is the first point of service, however maybe that is not the case in residential. Anyway any ideas would help. Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 12-12-05, 03:09 PM
Originally Posted by morpheusoptic