cooktop

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-12-05, 01:22 PM
cobb1942
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Arrow cooktop

Old cooktop 3-wire red, black and green. New cooktop 4-wire red, black, green and a smaller white wire. I was told I could connect the white (neutral) to the green (ground) and wire the same as the old unit. If not and I have to add a new 4-wire circuit from the panel (breaker box) to the cooktop, where does the smaller white wire hook in the panel? the bus bar which is the same as ground? or where? This cooktop is a ceramic smooth-top with no exposed metal. Thanks Ed
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-12-05, 01:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
The literature that comes with all cooktops contains two alternate sets of installation instructions, one for 3-wire connections and one for 4-wire connections. Find and follow the 3-wire instructions. You may have to install a bonding wire or strap on the cooktop, as explained by the instructions.

Although not required by code, if reasonably feasible you may want to run a new four-wire cable from the panel to your range. This would increase the safety of the installation. Then you could follow the 4-wire instructions.
 
  #3  
Old 12-12-05, 02:14 PM
cobb1942
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Arrow ?

I don't have the instructions. It is a floor model. Is the neutral and ground the same point? What is the service neutral in the breaker box? Thanks Ed
 
  #4  
Old 12-12-05, 02:22 PM
lemmyaraya
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Go to web site of manufature and check for instructions
most have them listed under support
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes