House built in 1960;some lines aren't grounded

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-13-05, 07:54 PM
payneg's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 51
House built in 1960;some lines aren't grounded

My house has some of the outlets grounded and some aren't. It seems that the right side of the house is grounded and the left side isn't.

Is there and easy way to ground outlets? Running copper wires isn't going to be easy.

I thought of adding some sort of whole house GFCI device. Is there such a device?

Thank you for your assistance
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-13-05, 08:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Is there and easy way to ground outlets?
No, not usually.

If your ungrounded circuits are wired with metal boxes and metal conduit, it's possible that you can ground the outlets to the metal boxes. A voltmeter would allow you to see if your metal boxes are already grounded.

GFCI allows you to install 3-hole outlets, but it doesn't provide grounding.

Other than that, you need new wires all the way back to the panel. If you live in Canada, you may have other options.
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-05, 05:14 PM
payneg's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 51
I live in Canada. I thought I saw outlets at Home Hardware that assist in grounding. This wouldn't make sense because the current has to go somewhere. Into the ground.

I tried connecting a copper wire from the 3 hole outlets to the metal box. I put a circuit analyzer on it and it reads open ground.

Installing copper wires would be really difficult because the basement is finished in vinyl siding on the walls and ceiling. It looks like Wainscotting but it's vinyl. The previous owner must of found a truckload of this stuff because there are piles of this stuff in the shed.
 
  #4  
Old 12-14-05, 05:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
I have learned from my Canadian friends that Canada allows you to ground outlets to cold water pipes. This is not allowed in the U.S. There are several knowledgeable Canadians who frequent this forum, so I'll let them fill you in on the details. It may be of interest whether or not you are in Ontario, since Ontario codes vary somewhat from the rest of Canada. In fact, I highly recommend you fill in the location field of your profile. You'll get much better advice that way.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes