Replacing outlet with GFI outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-13-05, 07:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: north dakota
Posts: 159
Replacing outlet with GFI outlet

I want to replace a regular outlet with a GFI outlet.

The old outlet is a double one. (2 outlets side by side)
This is the first outlet on the circuit. It's sorta under a cabinet, back in a corner, and somewhat inaccessable; so I would like to add one more outlet to the circuit.
The double box would then have 1 incoming cable (set of wires) but 2 outgoing cables (sets of wires).

Can I install a GFI in one side of this double box and use the other half of the box as a junction box?

SteveS
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-13-05, 07:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
I understood very little of what you said, but I think the answer to your question is yes.
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-05, 04:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
As I understand your question, the answer is yes.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'