Add a light to an existing circuit

Old 12-15-05, 08:01 PM
briansharon01
Visiting Guest
Add a light to an existing circuit

Ok, I'm hitting a brick wall with this one.
I'm quite sure I'm missing something obvious. (I'm an amateur, but can usually figure these things out)

I have a light connected to a single-pole switch. Only one set of wires come to the switch, so I'm understanding it to be at the end of the circuit. I want to add a second light controlled by the switch-- so the switch turns on/off two lights simultaneously. I *thought* I just needed to wire the second light in series:

Black (hot) comes into the switch, black from switch to 2nd light, white (black) from 2nd light to white (input). (the first black and last white are the two wires that were originally attached to the switch before adding the 2nd light)

But it's not working. If I do this, the 2nd light is lit, and the original light is not, which totally doesn't make sense to me. If I put the 2nd light in parallel with the switch, it toggles between the two lights.

I'm trying to avoid having to run more wires, but am thinking I need to run wires from the light in order to make both of them in parallel with the switch. Any thoughts?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-15-05, 08:29 PM
Group Moderator
Received 62 Votes on 58 Posts
If there are only two wires in the switch box, they are not what you think - they are both coming from the light - one comes in hot and the other goes back out hot/not because of the switch. The juice is going to your light first and then to your switch. I'm guessing you assumed it went to your switch first and then the light.

Old 12-15-05, 08:34 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by briansharon01

I'm trying to avoid having to run more wires, but am thinking I need to run wires from the light in order to make both of them in parallel with the switch. Any thoughts?

Thanks.
Now you're thinking right.