Upgrading my service panel

Old 12-16-05, 12:05 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I had an electrician replace my main panel last weekend. He did everything live. Almost every post that I read from this site on replacing the panel myself told me to cut power from the street.

I realize that I am not an electrician, and like any pro, he made everything look easy. I also realize that people that post here are not standing in front of my panel and don't want any blame if I killed or hurt myself.

Still, it looked so easy, removing the two hots and capping them. He wore no big rubber gloves nor had lots of safety equipment that some people recommended when I asked about doing this myself. When he put the hot wires and neutral back on, he did use a kind of Allen head style tightner that I had never seen.

We just need to open up some concrete near the panel to drive a ground rod and wire it to the panel, then he said we can call for inspection.

Could I have done it myself? Yes. Could I have done it as well in the same amount of time? Not even close.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-16-05, 12:28 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
Even though everything came out okay, I think he was being irresponsible as a professional by taking more risk than he should have. Not only could an arc flash have killed, burned or blinded him, but it could have started a fire and burned down your house or exploded the power company's transformer and caused a fire.

Can you work in high places without a safety harness? Yes. Can you operate a jackhammer without safety glasses? Yes. Can you use hazardous chemicals without a respirator? Yes. The list goes on and on, but I think it is rather irresponsible to perform dangerous work without protective gear when there are industry-standard safety procedures and gear available.

Old 12-16-05, 12:29 PM