Amps

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-18-05, 08:55 AM
chingao81375's Avatar
construction hand
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: West Texas
Posts: 114
Amps

I have a PVC bender that comes with out a plug. The bender runs on 24 amps. Somebody put a 20 amp plug on it. Does it need a 30 amp plug? Or does it make a difference?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-18-05, 09:02 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Are you saying it draws 24 amps?
If so then it obviously does need a 30 amp plug.
This doesn't sound like a very convenient tool. Where are you going to find a 125v/30a receptacle on a jobsite, unless you specfically install one.
 
  #3  
Old 12-18-05, 09:04 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2,041
Equally important as the AMP rating: what VOLTAGE does your machine require? Each particular shape of plug defines a Volts AND Amps rating. Your macine should have a label plate on it noting the voltage and amps ratings. Get back to us with that info and we can tell you what plug is required.
 
  #4  
Old 12-18-05, 06:09 PM
chingao81375's Avatar
construction hand
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: West Texas
Posts: 114
i need to know because i work at the warehouse of the construction company i work for. In order to check the tool to see if it working properly. Before i send it to the jobsite. The voltage on the thing says 230volts 24 amps, and 5500 watts. Our warehouse has a 220 volt/30 amp outlet. the bender has a 20 amp plug. I guess i need to replace the plug with a 30 amp.
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-05, 06:50 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes