Transformer Wires- got cut.

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-19-05, 11:59 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sonoma
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Transformer Wires- got cut.

While remodeling our bathroom two wires that come for a transformer weree accidently cut. They are in the wall. Can I just reconnect them with twist caps or do they have to be connected in box?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-19-05, 12:14 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What kind of a transformer?
 
  #3  
Old 12-19-05, 12:29 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,625
Received 272 Votes on 235 Posts
If they are the supply(120 volt) wire they must be in a box.
 
  #4  
Old 12-19-05, 03:31 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sonoma
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There not the supply- they are the small single wires that go to the doorbell, etc.
 
  #5  
Old 12-19-05, 04:17 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just connect them with wirenuts. No need for a box.
 
  #6  
Old 12-19-05, 04:57 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sonoma
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. As I understand you, I can connect with twist caps and leave them inside the wall.

Thanks for your help.

I have recently installed several switches that did not have a ground screw on them. I am using a plastic box. The ground from the fixture is connected to other ground wires. Do I need to replace these switches with new switches with grounds?
 
  #7  
Old 12-19-05, 10:18 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
For Low Volts,yes
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: